Religious Education

Exam Board: AQA

Exam Board Website: AQA – Assessment and Qualifications Alliance externallink

Religious Education Curriculum Summary
Year 7 At the start of Year 7, there will be a baseline assessment in the first half term. This allows us to know what level our students are working at when they arrive at Swanmore. Year 7 will cover the following topics:
  • An introduction to RE
  • The Nature of God
  • Who was Jesus?
  • Sikhism and Community
Year 8 Progress is assessed throughout the year, using a combination of in-lesson assessments, end of topic assessments and year group examinations. These assessments are designed to show pupils’ progress in both knowledge and understanding. Topics covered include:
  • Hinduism
  • Reincarnation
  • Unexplained mysteries
  • Judaism
Year 9 Pupils continue to study Core RE in KS4 and topics will include:
  • Extremism
  • The Holocaust
  • Relationships

Pupils who opt for RE at GCSE will cover a range of the major world religions, six contemporary ethical themes and two textual studies. Students will be challenged with questions about belief, values, meaning, purpose and truth enabling them to develop their own attitudes towards religious issues.

Year 10
Year 11